## To the attention of:

Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission Henna Virkkunen, Executive Vice-President for Tech Sovereignty, Security and Democracy Glenn Micallef, Commissioner for Intergenerational Fairness, Youth, Culture and Sport

Brussels, 17 March 2025

Concerning: Europe needs to preserve the AVMS directive

Dear President Ursula von der Leyen, dear Vice-President Virkkunen, dear Commissioner Micallef,

In a memorandum published on February 21, the Trump administration threatened the European Union with trade reprisals in the context of the application to American tech giants of several pieces of European legislation, in particular the Services Regulation (DSA) and the Digital Markets Regulation (DMA).

In this memorandum, another crucial piece of legislation for Europe's cultural and creative industries is called into question: the Audiovisual Media Services Directive (AVMS).

The Commission, through a spokesperson, reacted on February 25, stating that DSA and DMA will apply to all digital companies operating in the internal market, whatever their nationality. At the same time, the Commission stated that "the EU will react swiftly and decisively to defend its rights and regulatory autonomy against unjustified measures".

While we welcome this stance, we regret the absence of any mention of the AVMS Directive, which is clearly targeted in the memorandum.

Indeed, the regulations referred to in the memorandum concern the "financing of local productions by streaming services", referring directly to the investment obligations introduced by the AVMS Directive.

This directive, which could be revised in 2026, is currently under crossfire from American streaming platforms who would like unfettered access to the European market and therefore the dismantling of this directive, which sets out quota and investment obligations.

Dismantling the AVMS Directive would mark the end of Europe's conquest of its cultural sovereignty and that of its member states. It would be a fatal blow to national ecosystems that favor independent production, and hence to the cultural diversity recognized by the 2005 UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions.

We would therefore like to know the Commission's position on this challenge to the AVMS Directive, and whether it intends to develop a strong European cultural strategy in response to this memorandum.

With kind regards,

Emma Rafowicz (S&D, France)

Alex Agius Saliba (S&D, Malta) Oihane Agirregoitia Martinez (Renew Europe, Spain) Grégory Allione (Renew Europe, France) François-Xavier Bellamy (EPP, France) Melissa Camara (Greens/EFA, France) Damien Carême (Greens/EFA, France) Estelle Ceulemans (S&D, Belgium) Leila Chaibi (The Left, France) Christophe Clergeau (S&D, France) David Cormand (Greens/EFA, France) Elio Di Rupo (S&D, Belgium) Laurence Farreng (Renew Europe, France) Claire Fita (S&D, France) Jean-Marc Germain (S&D, France) Raphaël Glucksmann (S&D, France) Maria Grapini (S&D, Romania) Christophe Grudler (Renew Europe, France) Bernard Guetta (Renew Europe, France) Maria Guzenina (S&D, Finland) Hannes Heide (S&D, France) Pierre Jouvet (S&D, France) Ľubica Karvašová (Renew Europe, Slovakia) François Kalfon (S&D, France) Aurore Lalucq (S&D, France) Murielle Laurent (S&D, France) Isabelle Le Callennec (EPP, France)

Nathalie Loiseau (Renew Europe, France) Erik Marquardt (Greens/EFA, Germany) Nora Mebarek (S&D, France) Marina Mesure (The Left, France) Matjaž Nemec (S&D, Slovenia) Nikos Papandreou (S&D, Greece) Jutta Paulus (Greens/EFA, Germany) Thomas Pellerin-Carlin (S&D, France) Sabrina Repp (S&D, Germany) Diana Riba i Giner (Greens/EFA, Spain) Chloé Ridel (S&D, France) Marcos Ros Sempere (S&D, Spain) Sandro Ruotolo (S&D, Italy) Majdouline Sbaï (Greens/EFA, France) Birgit Sippel (S&D, Germany) Eric Sargiacomo (S&D, France) Mounir Satouri (Greens/EFA, France) Joanna Scheuring-Wielgus (S&D, Poland) Anthony Smith (The Left, France) Krzysztof Śmiszek (S&D, Poland) Zoltan Tarr (EPP, Hungary) Marie Toussaint (Green/EFA, France) Sabine Verheyen (EPP, Germany) Axel Voss (EPP, Germany) Lucia Yar (Renew Europe, Slovakia) Stéphanie Yon Courtin (Renew Europe, France) Bogdan Zdrojewski (EPP, Poland)